Celebrating our ACTRA members’ recent achievements

Dan Levy scores Best Comedic Performance win at MTV Awards
Dan Levy won MTV’s 2019 Best Comedic Performance Award for Schitt’s Creek. He’s showrunner, writer, director, producer and performer of the critically acclaimed Canadian CBC series. Dan co-created Schitt’s Creek with his father, Eugene Levy, and stars alongside Eugene, Catherine O’Hara, Annie Murphy and Chris Elliott. The show was recently nominated for four Emmy Awards for its fifth season, including best comedy series. In 2016, Levy won the Canadian Screen Award for Best Writing in a Comedy Series for Schitt’s Creek, which also took home the Best Comedy award that year. Levy began his screen career co-hosting MTV Canada’s flagship show MTV Live and recently he signed a three-year deal with ABC Studios.

Wendy Crewson and Jean Yoon are this year’s recipients of the Birks Diamond Tribute to the Year’s Women in Film
This year, Birks and Telefilm Canada presented their seventh annual Birks Diamond Tribute to the Year’s Women in Film. Performers Wendy Crewson and Jean Yoon, director Micheline Lanctôt, screenwriter Marie Clements and emerging directors Jasmin Mozaffari and Sophie Dupuis we honoured. Each recipient in the directing, acting, screenwriting and emerging talent categories receive an honourarium from Birks, the official jewelry sponsor of the Toronto International Film Festival, to support their next project. Congratulations to Wendy and Jean – both of whom are ACTRA National Councillors!

Jean Yoon and Wendy Crewson. Photo: Cass Enright
Joanne Vannicola honoured with Leslie Yeo Award for Volunteerism
Theresa Tova, Joanne Vannicola, Ferne Downey, Robert Underwood.
AFBS awarded ACTRA member Joanne Vannicola with the 2019 Leslie Yeo Award for Volunteerism, which recognizes an AFBS member’s exceptional community spirit. The award celebrates Joanne’s extensive work as an advocate for survivors of child abuse, youth and women’s rights, violence issues and LGBTQ rights. Joanne founded the non-profit organization Youth Out Loud in 2004 and is the chair of ACTRA Toronto’s outACTRAto Committee. AFBS proudly presented Joanne’s award at AFBS’s Annual General Meeting and Members’ Social, which took place in June at The Globe and Mail Centre in Toronto, Ontario.

ACTRA Manitoba Awards presented at Gimli Film Festival
Nancy Sorel and ACTRA Manitoba Vice President Alan Wong at the 19th annual Gimli Film Festival. Photo: Laina Brown
This year, ACTRA Manitoba presented outstanding performance awards for Manitoba productions screened at the 19th annual Gimli Film Festival on July 27. Nancy Sorel won Best Performance by a Female for her role in Platypus and Adam Brooks won Best Performance by a Male for his work in Chowboys: An American Folktale. Wendy Crewson was honoured with the Alda Award in recognition of her illustrious acting career in Canada and abroad. The Gimli Film Festival takes place in Gimli, Manitoba.

Top image: Dan Levy

ACTRA National
625 Church Street, Suite 300,
Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2G1

Phone 1-800-387-3516
(416) 489-1311

Stay in touch with your union